The weekend before last we woke early on Sunday and made the quick trip down the M1 to meet Richard in Ladybower for a taste of peak mountain biking. After a drizzly start the weather began to clear and we escaped the midges in the car park to make our way along the reservoir towards the first ascent. We all tried hard but to say we cycled the whole way uphill wouldn’t be the entire truth!

Hills

We descended down to the cafe and had a quick cuppa before heading on to the second ascent and the great fun downhill back to the car park. Richard shot down quickly and I did my best to keep up but it proved too much for my bike and the weld on my wheel broke throwing me over the handlebars. Kirsty caught up and wondered why I was pushing before she saw my wheel and realised something had gone very wrong!

I walked my bike down to the road while the others carried on to the the cars and Kirsty soon arrived back to pick me up. We finished up in the Ladybower Inn for a quick drink before setting off back home. A great intro to Peak District biking, as soon as my wheel is fixed we’ll be back!

TomandRich